Ólafur Arnalds has steadily built a reputation as a unique artist and composer, purveying a neo-classical style with an array of influences which range from electronica to minimalism. He draws on a variety of sources and inspiration whilst maintaining his own individual sound, mixing strings and piano with loops and edgy beats to create an immersive, bold and tantalizing crossover between ambient, electronic and pop.

Originally from Mosfellsbær, a small-town suburb of Reykjavik, Ólafur released his debut album ‘Eulogy for Evolution’ in 2007 and has since released a further four albums, all of which have received critical acclaim. Alongside his work as a recording artist, Ólafur has composed music for a variety of film and television projects.

Ólafur’s scores include Anna, part of the Leipzig Homicide series co-scored with Snorri Hallgrímsson, the Apple TV+ series Surface, sci-fi series Moonhaven, the title theme for Apple TV+’s Defending Jacob, for which he received an Emmy nomination for ‘Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music’ and Electric Dreams for Channel 4, a sci-fi anthology series of ten epic, ambitious standalone episodes inspired by Philip K. Dick’s renowned short stories.

Ólafur was commissioned to compose the score for the highly acclaimed and wildly popular ITV/Kudos series, Broadchurch (Series 1-3) starring Olivia Colman and David Tennant for which he won the BAFTA Craft Award for ‘Best Original Television Music’ in 2014 and was nominated again in 2016.

Ólafur’s songs have featured on The Hunger Games score, multiple seasons of So You Think You Can Dance, the trailer for the 2012 film Looper and Showtime’s Masters Of Sex.

Read more


(Co-scored with Snorri Hallgrímsson)
UFA Fiction
Director: Susan Gordanshekan
Producer: Toni Heye, Henriette Lippold, Tanya Momella
Starring: Melanie Marschke, Marco Girnth, Amy Mubul, Johannes Hendrik Langer
A SILENCEStenola Productions
Director: Joachin Lafosse
Producers: Alexis Dantec, Anton Iffland Stettner, Eva
Kuperman, Antonio Lombardo
Starring: Daniel Auteuil, Emmanuelle Devos
Director: Matthieu Rytz
Producer: Matthieu Rytz
Narrator: Jason Momoa
Directors: Laura Belsey, David Caffrey, Bridget Savage Cole,
Danielle Krudy
Producer: Sarah Nolen
Starring: Dominic Monaghen, Emma McDonald, Amara Karan
Director: Morten Tyldum
Producer: John Fedinych
Starring: Chris Evans, Michelle Dockery, Jaeden Martell
*EMMY Nomination 2020 – Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music*
PHILIP K. DICK’S ELECTRIC DREAMS Channel 4 / Sony Pictures
Directors: Julian Jarrold, David Farr
Producers: Lynn Horsford, Rupert Ryle-Hodges
Starring: Timothy Spall, Bryan Cranston, Steve Buscemi
BROADCHURCH (Series 1 – 3)Kudos Film & Television / ITV
Director: James Strong, Euros Lyn
Producer: Richard Stokes
Starring: Olivia Colman, David Tennant
***BAFTA Award Winner: Best Original TV Music 2014***
***BAFTA Award Nomination: Best Original TV Music 2016***
***Televisual Bulldog Award for Best Music 2014***
***BAFTA Award Nomination: Best Original TV Music 2014***
***BAFTA Award Nomination: Best Original TV Music 2016***
Director: Sam Levinson
Producer: Ellen Barkin, Pamela Lynn Fields, Johnny Lin, Michael Nardelli
Starring: Ellen Barkin, Ellen Burstyn, Demi Moore, Thomas Haden-Church, Kate Bosworth, George Kennedy
GIMME SHELTERDay Twenty-Eight Films
Director: Ron Krauss
Producer: Jeff Rice
Starring: Rosario Dawson, Vanessa Hudgens, Brendan Fraser, James Earl Jones
Director: Mark Johnston
Producer: Mark Johnston
ÓRÓI The Icelandic Film Company
Director: Baldvin Zophoníasson
Producer: Júlíus Kemp, Ingvar Póröarson
VORNARSTRÆTI (Life In A Fishbowl)The Icelandic Film Company
Director: Baldvin Zophoníasson
Producer: Júlíus Kemp, Ingvar Póröarson
Starring: Hera Hilmar
BLINKY TMImage Now Films
Director: Ruairi Robinson
Producer: Marshall Rawlings, Nick Ryan