Ruth Barrett

Ruth Barrett – Composer Profile


Composer, programmer and instrumentalist, Ruth Barrett has over the last ten years amassed an impressive number of cinema and drama credits including two scores for Dredd 3D director Pete Travis, Legacy and City Of Tiny Lights; Toast, the BBC feature film starring Helena Bonham Carter; Wallander, the BBC detective series starring Kenneth Brannagh; the BBC’s Remember Me; the British feature film Harry Brown starring Michael Caine; and the gritty and hard-hitting Paul Abbott penned feature thriller Twenty8K with UK producer Jake Gosling. 

Ruth’s most recent scores include director S.J. Clarkson’s BBC drama series, Collateral, starring Carey Mulligan; both series of ITV’s, Victoria; Hat Trick Production’s medical drama, Critical; ITV’s hugely popular family drama, The Durrells; and the BBC’s five-part comedy drama Love Nina, starring Helena Bonham Carter. 

Ruth scored Wuthering Heights, a two-part Mammoth Screen adaptation of the Emily Bronte novel for ITV/PBS Masterpiece starring Tom Hardy, and The Take, a Company Pictures adaptation of Martina Cole’s novel for Sky. She scored Married Single Other for Left Bank Pictures various episodes of Wallander, the Kenneth Brannagh led Swedish detective piece based on the Henning Mankell novels; also for Left Bank Pictures. She also provided additional score for Endgame, directed by Pete Travis. Ruth went on to write additional score for the BBC’s The Shadow Line (winner of Ivor Novello award 2012 for best TV music) having scored the gripping ITV drama, Bouquet Of Barbed Wire for Mammoth Screen. Ruth also scored the feature length BBC drama Hancock and Joan, starring Ken Stott as Tony Hancock and Maxine Peake as Joan Le Mesurier. She has composed the music for all series of the hit ITV show, Whitechapel, made by Carnival Films.

Prior to this, she wrote the music for the television dramas What We Did On Our Holiday, starring Pauline Collins, and True Dare Kiss, a six part series for BBC1 starring Paul McGann; alongside writing additional cues for the BBC dramas Oliver Twist (winner of Ivor Novello award 2008) and the Emmy nominated, Sense and Sensibility. Ruth has worked extensively with RTS and Ivor Novello award-winning composer Martin Phipps, writing additional music cues for the BBC adaptations, The Virgin Queen and The Line of Beauty, and the feature films, Pierrepoint and The Flying Scotsman.

Ruth studied composition at The Royal Academy of Music and read music at Cambridge University. She started her career composing for theatre and commercials before setting up a music production company, Rubykon, with composer and engineer Ruskin Williamson. Between them, they have scored numerous documentaries, ad campaigns and short films. Having built up a successful career composing for feature and TV drama, Ruth now focuses her incredible skill upon writing music for film and television.

Director: Pete Travis
Producers: Rebecca O’Brien, Ado Yoshizaki Cassuto
Starring: Billie Piper, Vincent Regan, Riz Ahmed
TWENTY8K Formosa Films
Director: David Kew
Producers: Martin Carr
Starring: Stephen Dillane, Kaya Scoledario
TOAST Ruby Films
Director: S J Clarkson
Producer: Faye Ward
Starring: Helena Bonham Carter, Freddie Highmore
ENDGAME (additional music/programming)
Daybreak Pictures
Director: Pete Travis
Producer: Hal Vogel
Starring: Mark Strong, William Hurt, Johnny Lee Miller, Derek Jacobi, Chiwitel Ejiofor
HARRY BROWN(additional music)
Cutting Edge/Marv Films
Director: Daniel Barber
Producers: Keith Bell, Kris Thykier, Matthew Vaughn
Starring: Michael Caine
BRIGHTON ROCK (Additional Music)
BBC Films / Kudos
Director: Rowan Joffe
Producer: Paul Webster
Starring: Carey Mulligan, Helen Mirren, John Hurt
THE FLYING SCOTSMAN(additional music/ programming)
Director: Douglas Mackinnon
Producer: Sara Giles/ Peter Broughan / Peter Gallagher
PIERREPOINT(additional music/ arranging)
Director: Adrian Shergold
Producer: Christine Langan
INKHEART (programming / assisting)Composer: Javier Navarette
Director: Iain Softley
Televison Drama
COLLATERALThe Forge Entertainment / BBC / Netflix
Directors: S.J Clarkson
Writer: David Hare
Starring: Carey Mulligan, Billie Piper
(series 1, 2 & 3)
ITV / Mammoth Screen
Directors: Oliver Blackburn, Tom Vaughan, Sandra Goldbacher
Producer: Paul Frift
Starring: Jena Coleman, Rufus Sewell
*Primetime Emmy Award Nomination 2017: Outstanding Composition for a series*
LOVE NINA BBC / See-Saw Films
Director: S.J. Clarkson
Producer: Derrin Schlesinger
Starring: Helena Bonham Carter, Faye Marsay
(series 1, 2 & 3)
ITV / Sid Gentle Films
Directors: Steve Barron, Roger Goldby
Producer: Christopher Hall
Starring: Keeley Hawes
CRITICALHat Trick Productions
Directors: Jon East, Michael Keillor, Philippa Langdale
Producer: Christopher Hall
Starring: Lannie James, Kimberley Nixon, Paul Bazely, Emma Fryer
Director: Ashley Pearce
Producers: Chris Carey
Starring: Eileen Davies, Shelia Hancock, Mark Addy, Michael Palin, Julia Sawalha
Director: Pete Travis
Producers: Rob Bullock
Starring: Ramola Garai, Charlie Cox, Geraldine James, Simon Russell Beale, Andrew Scott, Olivia Grant
Director: SJ Clarkson, Alrick Riley, Dan Percival
Producers: Eliza Mellor
Starring: Melissa George
*Music & Sound Awards Nomination 2013: Best Original TV Music*
WHITECHAPEL (Series 1&2)Carnival Films / ITV
Director: SJ Clarkson, David Evans, Richard Clark, Jon East
Producers: David Boulter, Marcus Williams, Grainne Marmion
Starring: Rupert Penry Jones, Philip Davis, Steve Pemberton
THE SHADOW LINE(Additional Music)
Company Pictures
Director: Hugo Blick
Producers: Hugo Blick, Johann Knobel
Starring: Chiwetel Ejiofor, Christopher Eccleston
IVOR NOVELLOAward 2012: Best Original TV Music
Director: Ashley Pearce
Producer: Kate McKerrell
WALLANDER (Series 2)Left Bank Pictures
Directors: Hettie Macdonald, Andy Wilson
Producer: Sanne Wohlenberg
Directors: Declan Lowney, Charles Martin
Producer: Radford Neville
THE TAKECompany Pictures
Director: David Drury
Producer: Willow Grylls
WUTHERING HEIGHTS2 x 90' / Mammoth Screen / ITV
Director: Coky Giedroyc
Producer: Radford Neville
HANCOCK AND JOAN1 x 90' / World Productions / BBC4
Director: Richard Laxton
Producer: Simon Heath
Directors: Jeremy Webb / Declan O'Dwyer
Producer: Marcus Wilson
OLIVER TWIST(additional music/co-credit ep 5: Martin Phipps)
5 x 30' / BBC
Director: Coky Giedroyc
Producer: Sarah Brown
Ivor Novello Award 2008: Best Original TV Music
CLAPHAM JUNCTION (co-credit: Martin Phipps)
1 x 100' / Darlow Smithson / C4
Director: Adrian Shergold
Producer: Elinor Day
A VERY BRITISH SEX SCANDAL1 x 90' / Blast Films / C4
Director: Patrick Reams
SENSE AND SENSIBILITY(additional music/arranging)
3 x 60' / BBC
Director: John Alexander
Producer: Anne Pivcevik
RTS Award Winner 2008: Best Original Title Music
BAFTA Craft Nomination 2009: Best Original TV Music
WHAT WE DID ON OUR HOLIDAY1 x 120' / Granada / ITV
Director: Jeremy Webb
Producer: Chris Carey
BEATING DEATH1 x 90' / Wall to Wall / C4 / Discovery
Director: Patrick Reams
Producer: Simon Chinn
THE GREY MANLeopardrama / BBC1
Director: Declan O'Dwyer
Producer: Amanda Jenks
THE LINE OF BEAUTY(additional music)
Director: Saul Dibb
Producer: Kate Lewis
THE VIRGIN QUEEN(additional music)
Director: Coky Giedroyc
Producer: Paul Rutman
Ivor Novello Award 2007
RTS Award 2006: Best Original Score